The Look of Lazy

My stunt cats, JJ and Possum. I bribed 'em with Greenies treats. (Viola is too cool for such obvious tricks.)

My stunt cats, JJ and Possum. I bribed ‘em with Greenies treats. (Viola is too cool for such obvious tricks.)

Nope. Not a lick of progress.

I needed a place at which to eat, so I moved the ill-fitting antique table back into the kitchen, where it offends me daily by violating the plane of the window trim and window. And on which I bark my knees every time I sit down to eat.

The last piece of base moulding? Still not attached. I’ve not even contemplated buying the shoe moulding, lumber for the cabinets’ faux feet or beams for the mini-Roubo island thingy. The beech backsplashes that I need to install on the non-sink counters? Still sitting on my bench at work, in unprocessed board form.

Most of the tools, the air compressor and empty hardware and appliances boxes? Still in the dining room.

Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

Lots of travel, a conference to plan, a dissertation to write, freelance manuscripts and a magazine to edit…I’m simply swamped.

But it’s all driving me a little nutty. I want to be finished…if only I could find the time.

There is, after all, a third-floor bathroom that is in need of a total gut job. Fun!

 

 

About fitz

Editor & content director for Popular Woodworking, ABD PhD focused on early modern drama, freelance content and copy editor/writer, ailurophile
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Look of Lazy

  1. Any post with multiple Princess Bride references that DON’T include, “Hello, my name is…” more than makes up for the lack of progress. ;)

    • fitz says:

      I couldn’t work in my faves: “Get used to disappointment,” “My way is not very sportsmanlike” and “Every babe that weeps at your approach, every woman who cries out, ‘dear God, what is that thing!’ will echo in you perfect ears. That is what to the pain means. It means I leave you in anguish, wallowing in freakish misery forever.”

  2. tutorwood says:

    Hi Megan,
    Oh man can I relate to your post.!!! I too have been living in a partially renovated house for the past 5 years . I seem to get one job nearly finished then my darling, and very patient wife, adds another 4 things to the list.
    Once the blog posts are done and the books are written I’m sure I’ll have more time………?
    Love the magazine,
    Keep up the outstanding work
    Cheers
    Bryan

  3. mysticcarver says:

    Lazy really isn’t an accurate description. You obviously have a lot on your plate and since you know all that needs doing goes to show your thinking about it all. The cats don’t seem to mind ;)

    Definitely nothing like the PIT OF DESPAIR :)

  4. Richard Dort says:

    Hi Megan,

    I too have much to do and don’t know where to start but it was very nice to meet you up in Maine almost two weeks ago. These things are important also. And, I know you really enjoyed your time with the editor from Fine Woodworking. Thanks for being you.

    • fitz says:

      What is the “fine woodworking” of which you speak? ;-) I _did_ have a lovely time – it was nice to meet you and other great ww folks, sleep out under the stars, eat fresh lobster…wait…I want to go back. Now.

  5. John Horst says:

    The cats do not seem to mind.

  6. you could just stick the microwave on the counter over by the fridge, set up the dining room and – gasp – eat in there? ;)

    • fitz says:

      Ack — take up valuable counter space with a little-used appliance?!
      (Um, also, the dining room might soon become a shop…)

Leave a Reply

