Lines on Repeat

Hamlet

I have Hamlet on the brain: “Words, words, words” and “I am but mad north-north-west: when the wind is southerly I know a hawk from a handsaw,” both from 2.2. (To be fair, “handsaw” is likely a corruption of a type of bird, but still.)

And hey kids: Don’t drink and get near a computer. (Also, “Hamlet” is good for you. Read it.)

 

About fitz

Editor & content director for Popular Woodworking, ABD PhD focused on early modern drama, freelance content and copy editor/writer, ailurophile
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lines on Repeat

  1. Frank Vucolo says:

    Among my 3 favorite “books” and I refuse to give any of them the first, second or third spot. It’s been a few years but maybe it is time for a re-read. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Dear, I love what you write. But have you loss your ever loving mind. .. I have

  3. Russell Pitner says:

    Fitz, I have a difficult time telling an Eagle from an Osprey afar. Similar metaphor assuming the real statement was Heronshaw? Or maybe a little dementia creeping in such as “I cant tell my a** from a hole in the ground”?

  4. Adventures On The Fly says:

    Hang in there Megan!

  5. John Wolf says:

    I saw a really cool backsaw one time that had a carved hawk’s head as a d-handle. Have occasionally wished I could remember just what it looked like.

  6. toolnut says:

    I didn’t know Darth Vader was in Hamlet. ( or someone that looks just like him.)

Leave a Reply

