Production Turning: It Ain’t Me, Babe

Spindles

Update: I’ve found a Production Turner in Maine that I can almost afford, so…I sent a check. Thanks for all the suggestions/offers.

I’ve come to the sad realization that I will never find time to turn the 54 spindles I need to rebuild my staircase. In the four or so years I’ve been saying I’d make these myself, I’ve turned one. At that rate, I’d be 268 years old by the time they’re done. Seems a bit late, really.

I’d much rather spend my time writing, editing, teaching flat woodworking and building casework.

The spindles need to match those shown above (I have a sample to send), must be finish-ready red oak, and are 1-3/4″ square at the top and bottom, 30″ long. I’ve asked for a couple of quotes from companies I found online; I’m going to pay someone. But I’d rather pay someone I know (or at least “know” – through woodworking events, social media, etc.). So: If there are any U.S.-based production turners reading this who are interested, please send me an email (to 1snugthejoiner@gmail.com).

About fitz

Woodworker, writer, editor, teacher, ailurophile, Shakespearean. Will write for air-dried walnut.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Production Turning: It Ain’t Me, Babe

  1. I’m not especially fond of turning — I do it when I can’t avoid it. But you like editing more than turning? Holy cow.

    • Steve Jones says:

      Holy Cow Batman! I don’t even turn but editing more than the chance to put another kind of woodworking on your to do list? Some one is going to come take away your tape measure in the dead of night!

  2. OneBigMarine says:

    I’ve offered to turn these for you before.

  3. David J says:

    This is David from Atlanta.
    Check this guy out. http://marksillay.com/index.html
    I’ve worked with him and will vouch for his work.

  4. Patrick says:

    You will be so happy when it’s done. Just turn a few extra because….mistakes do happen.

Leave a comment